SNMMI Elects Sally W. Schwarz, MS, RPh, BCNP, as President During 2016 Annual Meeting

June 13, 2016

San Diego, Calif. (Embargoed until 10 a.m. PT, June 13, 2016)—Sally W. Schwarz, MS, RPh, BCNP, professor of radiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Mo., has assumed office as 2016-17 president of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI). SNMMI introduced a new slate of officers during its 2016 Annual Meeting, June 11-15, in San Diego, Calif.  

“As SNMMI president and a nuclear pharmacist, I want to ensure that safe and effective radiopharmaceuticals for both diagnosis and therapy are widely available,” said Schwarz. “In the year ahead, I will be working with both the Food and Drug Administration and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services on processes to help develop an expedited parallel review process.”

Schwarz’s goals for the coming year include development of a Qualified Person (QP) Training program to cross-train chemists and pharmacists for the release of manufactured radiopharmaceuticals, including PET, SPECT and therapeutic radiopharmaceuticals. Additionally, the modular didactic portion of this program will be available to any individual who desires training in aseptic process and regulatory requirements (e.g., USP Chapter 797 and FDA Part 212).

Schwarz will also focus on raising awareness and understanding of isotope availability, radiopharmaceutical development, and United States Pharmacopeia Convention (USP) and Federal Drug Administration (FDA) regulatory issues. She will work with SNMMI councils on continued development of databases of appropriate use criteria for existing nuclear medicine procedures, as well as investigational new drug compounds. These databases will serve as resources for evidence-based, high-quality care. Schwartz emphasizes, “Our ultimate goal, and the impetus for all we do, is to improve people’s lives by providing the highest quality of care.”

In addition to her role as professor at Washington University School of Medicine, Schwarz is co-director of the medical school’s cyclotron facility and nuclear pharmacy and serves as secretary of the Radioactive Drug Research Committee. Previously, she was the pharmacist representative on the Nuclear Regulatory Advisory Committee and spent six years on the USP Radiopharmaceutical and Medical Imaging Expert Committee and the Physical Analysis Expert Committee.

Within SNMMI, Schwarz currently serves as chair of the Committee on Radiopharmaceuticals and co-chair of the SNMMI Coalition for PET Drug Approval. She has held many positions with the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council, including president, and remains involved as the leadership representative. Schwarz is also a member of the FDA Taskforce and previously served on the Clinical Trials Network Manufacturing Committee. In addition, she has dedicated many years to the Missouri Valley SNMMI Chapter, serving as chapter councilor.

Schwarz received her Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy from the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa, and her Master of Science degree in radiopharmacy from the University of Southern California in Los Angeles, Calif. She is board certified by the American Pharmacist’s Association in nuclear pharmacy.

She is chairman of the Washington University Positron-Emitting Radionuclides and Cyclotron Safety Subcommittee, serves on the editorial board for Nuclear Medicine and Biology, and is treasurer for the International Society of Radiopharmaceutical Sciences, among other activities. Schwarz received the Veteran's Administration Traineeship in Radiopharmacy at the University of Southern California, as well as the American Pharmacist Association (APhA) Fellow Award. This year, she received the William Briner Distinguished Service Award in Nuclear Pharmacy Practice.

Schwarz is a member of the Society of Radiopharmaceutical Chemistry and Biology, the World Molecular Imaging Society, and the American Pharmacist Association. She has published 25 journal articles and 11 book chapters and has been an invited speaker for more than 64 presentations.

Other SNMMI officers elected for 2016-17 are Bennett S. Greenspan, MD, MS, FACNM, FACR, Augusta, Ga., as president-elect, and Satoshi Minoshima, MD, PhD, Salt Lake City, Utah, as vice president-elect. SNMMI Technologist Section officers for 2016-17 are Sara G. Johnson, MBA, CNMT, NCT, FSNMMI-TS, San Diego, Calif., as president, and Kathleen Krisak, CNMT, FSNMMI-TS, Granby, Mass., as president-elect.


About the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging
The Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI) is an international scientific and medical organization dedicated to raising public awareness about nuclear medicine and molecular imaging, a vital element of today’s medical practice that adds an additional dimension to diagnosis, changing the way common and devastating diseases are understood and treated and helping provide patients with the best health care possible.

SNMMI’s more than 17,000 members set the standard for molecular imaging and nuclear medicine practice by creating guidelines, sharing information through journals and meetings and leading advocacy on key issues that affect molecular imaging and therapy research and practice. For more information, visit

Sally Schwarz photo